Non-STEM Related

“Milk & Honey” by Rupi Kaur

Finding myself in Barnes & Noble, I noticed I stumbled on this book. When I picked it up, I knew I would buy it and love it for the rest of my life.

If soul mates were inside books, mine was definitely in this one.

Opening up to a random page, this is the first poem I read read from Kaur:

“i am water

soft enough

to offer life

tough enough

to drown it away”

Then after thumbing through the rest of the book, I took note of how raw she writes – it seems to be just thoughts she wrote down and then sent it to a publisher. But one should realize that although these are short poems, they hold the issues a generation has faced since the beginning. She talks about rape, feminism, love and self love, solitude and isolation, the warped ideologies of society, and the very thought of writing the poems.

This book reaches into the depths of your inner darkness and pulls all of it right out. Kaur is an amazing example of a poetess and a woman who is making a mark in this world. I urge you to do your research on her and discover the amazing world she created with the broken pieces of this world. The last poem of this 204 page book reads the following:

“you split me open

in the most honest

way there is

to split a soul open

and forced me to write

at a time i was sure i

could not write again

– thank you

1 thought on ““Milk & Honey” by Rupi Kaur”

Leave a Reply

